Baldie

Baldieby sandie rossini: 4.21.14

You know how on TV and in movies you see people shaving their heads as they start to lose it during cancer treatment? They’re always empowered by it. Not me. I was definitely NOT 1 of those brave individuals. I had really long hair and it was hard when it fell out. My hair fell out from radiation and the doctors weren’t sure if I would get it back. When we shaved it I didn’t feel empowered, I felt like I looked like a cancer patient and I struggled with that. Dark circles, bald head, huge scar? I had the cancer look and I couldn’t embrace it. My hair was spared down the middle so I had what I called a “Receding- Mohawk”, not on purpose; it was just the way it happened. One day I felt brave, took a picture of my head and posted it on Instagram & Facebook. As it slowly grows back I still struggle with the way I look, but I’m glad I took this picture.

Leave a Reply

